Maniac Muslim Forums
stillcantthinkofaname

How to write for dummies. Halp.

Salaam peeps.

Problem :

I don't know how to write properly.

Elaboration :

I don't think my writing skills ( or lack of ) were always a problem. I remember gettting As/A*s for my first drafts in English/History essays/coursework during my GCSE years. Now, for some reason I can't seem to write above a secondary school level. I don't even remember what/how I used to write, I can't remember any techniques or what ever we used to use as a format/essay skeleton as some call it.

I'm studying Psychology and we have countless essays/lab reports to write up/ exams are essay based too, so I should have improved by now but I started almost all of them last minute so they were pretty rubbish tbh. I need to get better cos I'll need to work extra hard/get much better grades next year to make up for this year and the last. Which means I need to improve my writing skills asap cos I'll have a lot more assignments (mainly essays and lab reports) at least 4 essay based exams aaaand a bladdy dissertation.

Solution :
That's where you guys come in!

How/Where do I learn how to write?

Thank yees :)

Is it really this simple?

Is there a long answer?

long answer: actually start writing. Then you'll get it all back. In school you had frequent practice, now you are out of it. Even a great archer misses his mark if he stays away from his bow for too long.

long answer: actually start writing. Then you'll get it all back. In school you had frequent practice, now you are out of it. Even a great archer misses his mark if he stays away from his bow for too long.

True. I like that analogy.

I used to looove writing back then, cos I was studying my favourite books and cos I was interested in learning/writing back then.

Right now, I find writing very stressful.